Reviews

7.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
6.7
Property location
8.2
Facilities
6.8
Staff
7.1
Value
6.8

Reviews

    Agnès
    fr

    Review score

    7.1
    18 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    CKRoy
    bd

    Review score

    8.8
    16 September 2018

    great experience

    hospitality
    Claire
    au

    Review score

    6.7
    10 September 2018

    Wonderful location but facilities lacking

    Shower and bathroom were dirty, awful sewage smell emanating from the bathroom at all times
    Excellent location!! Right near food, shopping, pretty little hutongs and tree lined streets - location can’t be beat.
    Kemal
    tr

    Review score

    9.2
    8 September 2018

    Very nice location and traditional design

    If you carry heavy luggages, its not easy to access to the hotel, you have to walk a little .. and to take a taxi also need to walk to the nearest street.. Taxi can not come in front of the hotel..
    Traditional design, nice staff, good wifi and very good location.. Hutong area is cool with many restaurants and bars and little shops..
    gb

    Review score

    2.9
    30 August 2018
    It was dirty and I was bitten to bits by mosquitos during my stay. The staff were rude and I had to argue to get the room which I had been promised by booking.com
    It was in a quiet location.
    Roger
    fr

    Review score

    8.8
    29 August 2018

    Great location for discovering "real" Beijing.

    Bedrooms could've been a bit cleaner. The staff could have had better command of English (though it was much much better than our Mandarin of course).
    The location of this hotel in one of the few remaining hutongs of Beijing turned out to be one of its most important features. We were so delighted to discover the youthful ambiance of the neighborhood, with all its street food and shops, without the feeling of being in a cleaned up tourist neighborhood.
    Cicicitra
    nl

    Review score

    6.7
    20 August 2018
    The room could do better with a full-body mirror and some hook or nails on the bathroom wall to hang the clothes.. Also, the toilet broke down and the safety box was locked when I entered my room for the first time. But otherwise, I had a pleasant stay.
    Location was good, right in the middle of the hutong. Staff didn't speak English but they had their phone translator ready with them, so we could communicate at least. They were also very helping. I stayed in one of the Traditional Room and the interior gave you a good feeling that you are in China.
    ie

    Review score

    10
    16 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Beatrice Bianchi
    it

    Review score

    7.5
    14 August 2018

    Amazing position with challenging communication

    The stuff does not speak English and the communication with them was always challenging but people really nice and available doing theirs best to support
    Position is amazing!!
    Barkin
    cn

    Review score

    4.2
    8 August 2018

    Bad experience at check-out

    The staff doesn't speak English. At the check-out I received my deposit back (200CNY) in 2 pcs. of 100CNY banknotes. It turned out that these banknotes are fake! It was my first time in China, so I was not aware of the size of fake banknotes problem and it didn't cross my mind to check the banknotes from the hotel. I recommend the people who will stay in this hotel to ask for a scan of banknotes in the money counter with fake detection at the reception before accepting the banknotes from the hotel.
    The style.
    Louise
    au

    Review score

    7.9
    29 July 2018
    Our room was right next to the kitchen so noisy mornings. Even though our beds were made up each day I don’t think the floor was swept the whole time so that was a bit unpleasant.
    Great location. Good price. Free water each day. Stayed for 11 nights.
    Jason
    my

    Review score

    6.7
    28 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb

    Review score

    10
    19 July 2018

    Absolutely tip-top. Book it!!

    First day seemed a little all to Kyoto station but isn’t far - 15 mins . Didn’t like we only had 3 days , would definitely stay longer!
    Absolutely fabulous! Modern , yet an air of traditional. Spotless, well- stocked - even coffee grinder and machine. Washing machines, bicycles. All modern and straightforward. Good communication from staff st agency - checking daily all was ok.
    Jordan
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    13 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    sg

    Review score

    4.6
    8 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Alex Hew
    my

    Review score

    8.3
    17 September 2018

    Great location, price you can't beat.

    You have to pay more for a better room to get a truly traditional design room. Sound-proof is bad. You can hear clearly people chatting while walking pass your room. I once woke up at 5am just because of this issue.
    The staffs are very polite and helpful. Wifi is good. It is at nanluoguxiang hutongs. U get to pass by these hutongs for food and souvenirs every time you leave the hotel and get back to the hotel. The hutongs open until about 11pm. metro is 10mins walk away and bus station is 5mins walk away. shichahai lake and gulou is just 10mins walk away.
    rs

    Review score

    6.2
    11 September 2018

    Don’t. It’s not worth it.

    Not too clean. A bit shabby and definitely not a 3-star hotel (if that’s what the diamonds mean). Worst experience was when reception staff asked to scan my carry-on luggage, then decided it was okay to open it and rummage through it “for security reasons”. I’ve stayed in hotels across China and this is the first time I’ve encountered such idiocy. No. You don’t get to go through anyone’s luggage. Didn’t get a wake up call in the morning even though I scheduled it and they didn’t call a taxi in the morning, like I asked. Instead they send you to the main road, which had NO taxis. Bear in mind, they do not speak English at all.
    Central location, close to many shops and restaurants. Nice courtyard, with a sitting area, lovely decor. Bathroom was spacious and nice. All toiletries and towels provided.
    jp

    Review score

    7.5
    24 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    th

    Review score

    3.8
    18 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    jp

    Review score

    7.1
    15 August 2018

    Not so Western, but worth it for the location!

    The rooms were very dusty, and there was only one fluent English speaker on staff. Additionally, the room had no window, thigh light poured in through a wall window all night. Additionally, people were very loud in the hallway early in the day.
    The location was stunning, very quaint and local. Sturdy walking distance to great sites and excellent food and grocery shopping in the area, as well as bus and subway access. The staff worked hard to keep us happy, personally calling taxis and arranging for Great Wall tours. I would stay again!
Loading reviews